Child of War-Rising Son

On the Verge of manhood Raven’s rampage continues

as tackles the difficult path to Acceptance by his fellow Olympians. Out to prove he’s as good as, if not better than, any of them he bests the Trials set before him by Hades and Poseidon. This isn’t enough for Raven. In his quest to prove that he is a true Olympian Raven preys upon the Mortals below Olympus in a time of great weakness. Settling for nothing less than Chaos, he enlists the aid of his Uncle Apollo together they push the Mortals to pure anarchy when a global financial crisis leaves the entire world destitute, in ruins, and at each other’s throats. Ready to finish conquering his Trials so that he may take his place at the Counsel Table, and bring Ares the glory Cernunnos once foretold, only one thing stands in his way; the night his Mother fell down the stairs.

Alena, her body asleep in Ares’ bed for four long years, is lost deep in the clutches of a never-ending dream induced by Morpheus. After years of living an illusion and becoming Morpheus Wife, Alena discovers his deception and struggles to escape her prison. Morpheus has no intentions of ever letting her go. He’ll fight to the death to keep her.

Apollo, ever the Man Behind the Curtain, pulls Raven’s strings like a true puppet master. It’s far too late when Raven realizes all he’s done to please his Father actually makes Ares look guilty of destroying the Mortal World. A little Chaos and a little Anarchy aren’t enough for the Golden God, in his on-going quest to destroy Ares, Apollo sets a plague loose upon the Earth. A bio-chemical weapon stolen from the United States Government at Area 51, known commonly as Major Falls. By the time the Olympians discover what’s going on twenty million people are dead with the number multiplying exponentially every day.

Available in E-Book, Paperback and Audio On

Kindle Nook iBooks GooglePlay Amazon Audible Chirp

Signed Paperbacks are Available Here.


“Why are you helping me?”

“Because I don’t want to have to explain to your Mother why you’re dead,” Ares snorted as he stood in the basement of the Fortress with Raven watching him select items for his journey to the Underworld. “You’re limited to only what you can carry. There’s no magick in the Underworld, your powers will be suspended for as long as you’re down there, so choose wisely. Your strength will come in handy but you must stay swift on your feet so don’t take too much. You never know what you’re going to come across down there or how fast you’ll have to run.”

“I’m not running,” Raven retorted, picking up his spear and sliding it into the leather holster crisscrossing his bare hairless chest.

“Don’t be so sure, boy. Sometimes running really is the best option; if you’re dead, you can’t kill the monster, hummm? Speaking of running; where are your shoes?”

Raven looked down at his bare feet, the soles of which were tough as nails. “I hate shoes, I hate shirts, get used to it already.”

“Fine, but when you have to traverse a path of hot coals or cross a river of flowing lava don’t come back and bitch to me about it, humm.”

That didn’t sound very appealing and it made Raven grimace as his unearthly eyes narrowed on Ares. “Are you serious?”

“One of Hades’ favorite things is to litter the pathway with hot shards of broken glass; think those Hobbit feet of yours can withstand that?”

Raven picked one foot off the ground, turned it around, and looked at the sole of his foot, the skin of which was thick with callouses. “Maybe. Besides, I run faster barefoot.” Some type of armor might not be a bad idea. Raven’s eyes wandered off to the corner of the basement armory to the ancient armor in the corner. “How about that?”

Ares’ eyes followed to the armor he’d worn at Troy. “No, only weapons and armor that are natural will do you any good down there. No magick, no enchanted weapons or armor, no guns or explosives. You’re better off with some thick leather.” He thumbed the collar of his vest then beat a fist against his chest. “It’ll stop near any blade and there’s no magick involved.”

“Are you offering me your vest?”

“It’s still a little big for you but, yes, if you want it, it’s yours for this Trial and any other.”

Raven always liked his Father’s best battle vest with its sharp metal studs and two inch thick leather. “Gauntlets too?”

“Aren’t you greedy?” Ares sneered. “Yes, gauntlets too, I’d give you my boots but…” his eyes fell down to Raven’s feet.

“You keep them,” Raven said hurriedly and slipped off the spear and holster.

Web Analytics Made Easy - StatCounter
rising son by lisa beth darling


Codes are redeemable through Authors-Direct and may be used in; US, UK, CA, AU, or EU. Please e-mail me for your code at lisabethdarling @ gmail .com (take out the spaces). By requesting this code you are agreeing to be added to my official mailing list. No worries, I don’t send out missives very often and I never share your email address with anyone.

Listen to the audio sample on Audible here

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s